austmoke

Author Topic: Warm 1100 not getting warm enough  (Read 290 times)

jimivo

• Standard
  • Registered Member

• Personal Text
    Go ahead Moke my day
Warm 1100 not getting warm enough
« on: September 02, 2018, 11:28:46 AM »
Hey Guys, So I have a new 82 degree thermostat, a heater hose take off from end of cylinder head(unleaded head) always on (removed tap). An plus Engine, so has a by pass hose. New temperature gauge , I have checked goes straight to 100 C when put into jug of boiling water. Temp won't get over 60 C driving, goes up to about 70 C when idling, stop engine within minutes temp goes to 80 C. How do I go about getting the engine to run hotter? Cheers, Jim

Newie

• Custodian
  • Registered Member

• 2020 Moke Round Up www.mokeroundup.com.au

Re: Warm 1100 not getting warm enough
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2018, 12:31:17 PM »
Most people have the opposite problem Jim  ::)

For a start, mine has always run quite hot and I'm always keeping an eye on it in summer to make sure things don't get out of hand, but then again it's been running hot (sometimes really hot) for quite a few years now and surviving fine so far. Apparently some just run hotter (or colder) than others. That said, you are right in saying 60 degrees seems too low. I know mine doesn't run properly at that temp. I know this because on a really cold day, my hot running Moke taes quite a while to get up to temp.

What I'm trying to say is that these old engines are a lot more prone to being affected by ambient temperature than moderns. They can run a lot hotter in summer than winter, so part of your problem may be solved in a month or so when the weather warms up.