Author Topic: Distributor related woes  (Read 700 times)

Flash

• Standard
  • Registered Member

Distributor related woes
« on: June 23, 2020, 04:47:53 PM »
Hi Fellow Mokers,

I'm new to the Moke scene having recently purchased a 1974 1100cc Moke and am in need of some guidance and support.

The Moke has undergone a body restoration somewhere along the line and whilst it presents very well it has suffered with what I can only describe as an engine "stumble" from the day we bought it. I started off by fitting new plugs, points and condenser, but the problem persisted. Over the last few weeks the stumble has got progressively worse to the point where the engine would cut out completely and I would battle to re-start it.

I popped a timing light on and noticed that at idle the timing mark was jumping around. I then pulled the distributor out and discovered a huge amount of play in the distributor shaft. After chatting to the team at Minisport I decided to invest in a new 45D electronic distributor rather than having my tired old 29D refurbished. The new distributor arrived yesterday afternoon and I set about installing it this morning. It's at this point that things started to get interesting.

When I went to clean up the timing marks on the flywheel I discovered that the dull painted marks placed by a previous owner are not actually on the correct flywheel factory markings, but are about 40 degrees before the factory markings. I decided to ignore these home made marks and proceeded to setup the engine at the correct position for cylinder 1 using the procedure outlined in my Moke repair manual (cylinder 1 at TDC on compression stroke with factory TDC flywheel timing mark aligned with the pointer).